Jamie Urquhart gets NMI’s Contribution to Industry Award

1 min read

The Contribution to Industry award at the annual NMI Electronic Systems Awards has been given to Jamie Urquhart, pictured, the cofounder of ARM who recently chaired the ESCO report. NMI also named McLaren Electronic Systems as company of the year.

Derek Boyd, NMI CEO, said: "In his role as chair of the report, Jamie stepped up to the mark to bring this community together. It is only fitting that we honour Jamie's effort and achievement for the industry; he is a very deserving winner." In awarding Company of the Year to McLaren Electronic Systems, the judges cited the company's technology provision for all F1 teams and its growth into new, high value and high reliability market sectors. Other winners at the Awards were: Young Engineer of the Year: Adam Malpass Innovation: Coveritas Innovation in Power Electronics: Anvil Semiconductor Semi360: Lime Microsystems Product Excellence: Frontier Silicon Collaborative R&D Achievement: Infineon Automotive Electronics Innovation: Freescale Low Power Green Design: CamSemi Environmental Management: Seagate Technology Manufacturing Site of the Year: Xaar Manufacturing Supplier of the Year: Memsstar Training & Development: Dialog Semiconductor University Department of the Year: Herriot Watt Meanwhile, Ashley Robinson, a final years Master's student at the University of Southampton, was named the 2013 UKESF Scholar of the Year. During his three month placement with CSR, Robinson has been actively involved in developing NFC chips and LCD controllers. The Judges noted the exceptional level of competition in this year's scholars, giving highly commended recognition to Adam Crofts of Cardiff University and Wolfson Microelectronics, Eithne Glackin of Imperial College, London and Fujitsu Semiconductor Europe and Veronika Nesheva of the University of Edinburgh and ARM.