comment on this article

Shortlist unveiled for TechWorks Awards 2018

Xaar, McLaren, Ultrahaptics, Deep Armour & Imagination Technologies are among the companies that have been shortlisted for the TechWorks Awards 2018

In what the organisers described as "an exceptionally good number of entries of outstanding calibre" they received a large number of entries from a broad range of organisations for the TechWorks Awards.

The awards mark the excellence of the industry that is driving the UK's tech economy and becoming an increasingly important and strategic part of the UK’s and Ireland’s future.

The winners will be announced at the TechWorks Gala Dinner & Awards Ceremony on November 22, London.


The Automotive Electronics Innovation & Excellence Award

• Xilinx

• Codeplay Software

• McLaren Applied Technologies

The Disruptive Innovation Award

• Xilinx

• FlexEnable


The Emerging Technology Company of the Year Award

• Ultrahaptics


• Moortec Semiconductor

The IoTSF Champion Award

• SecureRF

• Arçelik

• Wistron NeWeb Corp

• Deep Armor

The Manufacturing Site of the Year Award

• Gas Sensing Solutions

• Xaar

• Newport Wafer Fab

The Manufacturing Supplier of the Year Award




The Power Electronics Innovation Award

• AVL Powertrain UK

• McLaren Applied Technologies

• Supply Design

The Product of the Year Award

• Ultra Electronics ENERGY

• Moortec Semiconductor

• Imagination Technologies

The Research Collaboration Award

• School of Electronics and Computer Science (University of Southampton) & Arm Research (Cambridge)

• City, University of London

• u-blox and the University of Bristol

The University Research Group of the Year Award

• Imperial College Wireless Power Lab

• Electronic Materials & Devices Research Group


The Young Engineer of the Year Award

• Ashley J. Robinson - Graphcore

• Emma Curati-Alasonatti - ARM

• Amy Hearst - vivaMOS

TechWorks will also be announcing the winners of the following awards on the night:

  • The Company of the Year Award
  • The Contribution to Industry Award
  • The Cyber Student of the Year in Automotive
  • The NMI Electronic Systems Outstanding Supplier Award
  • The UKESF Scholar of the Year Award

Follow the link below for tickets to attend this year's event.

Neil Tyler

Comment on this article

This material is protected by MA Business copyright See Terms and Conditions. One-off usage is permitted but bulk copying is not. For multiple copies contact the sales team.

What you think about this article:

Add your comments


Your comments/feedback may be edited prior to publishing. Not all entries will be published.
Please view our Terms and Conditions before leaving a comment.

Related Articles

Data mining

Together with his team, Karsten Reuter, Professor of Theoretical Chemistry at ...

Plastic bag power

Researchers have reported a new method to convert plastic bags into carbon ...

Innovation unbound

Earlier this month the Consumer Electronics Show (CES) took place in Las Vegas, ...

Break the stereotype

The gender gap is closing. Around 11% of the engineering workforce is female – ...

Turnkey system

Three new software packages designed to expand the measurement standards ...

USB-based Bluetooth

A USB-based Bluetooth development platform based around Toshiba Electronics ...

Spurring on the IoT

A team of Stanford engineers has built a radio the size of an ant – a device so ...

Storm clouds gather

The latest quarterly report from the EEF, the manufacturers’ organisation, ...

Over the worst?

It’s been a torrid few months for Tesla, with a series of mishaps, reality ...

Greater than two

When Analog Devices (ADI) acquired Linear Technology, industry watchers were ...